Interactive Bar

Blog Blog
Twitter Twitter
Log In Log in

Ray Lodge Primary School

Striving for Excellence

Part of Strive4 Academy Trust

Part of Strive4 Academy Trust

Background Slideshow

Cognitive skills

Jean Piaget's theory of cognitive development suggests that children move through four different stages of mental development. His theory focuses not only on understanding how children acquire knowledge, but also on understanding the nature of intelligence.


Piaget's stages are:


Piaget believed that children take an active role in the learning process, acting much like scientists as they perform experiments, make observations, and learn about the world. As children interact with the world around them, they continually add new knowledge, build upon existing knowledge, and adapt previously held ideas to accommodate new information.


The curriculum at Ray Lodge Primary has been developed to take into consideration Piaget's stages so that pupils develop the following cognitive skills:








Creative Thinking


 Problem Solving


 Making Connections






Critical Thinking



Get in touch

Contact Details